Profile

Amazing Rainforest Wonders

  • Categories:景区简介
  • Time of issue:2019-10-18 00:00:00
  • Views:0
Description:
Description:
Information

Yunnan Tongbiguan Nature Reserve where Moli Tropical Rainforest Scenic Area is located is the westernmost part of the tropical region in China, and the only region in China with a tropical biota of the Irrawaddy River system. The region has not been affected in the Quaternary Ice Age in history, and preserved many ancient primitive animal and plant species. It is the area where the resources are the most concentrated and typical in China-India-Myanmar tropical biogeographic region.

Walking into Moli Rainforest, we will not only see the rich and varied vertical landscape of tropical rainforest with multi-tree species at multi-level, but also the magical rainforest phenomena including “Hanging Garden”, “Trees in Stone or Tree-enclosed Rock” and “Old Stem Flowers”.

 

[Hanging Garden]

Hanging Garden refers to the epiphytic phenomenon of Pteridophyta and Orchidaceae. The Pteridophyta and Orchidaceae in rainforest often attach to the crotche and branes of tall arbor trees and live on rain, water vapor in the air and limited humus (rotten dead leaves or animal waste, etc.). Various shapes of leaves and flowers surround the big trees in clusters and hang in the air. Thus a “hanging garden” is formed.

  

 

[Old Stem Flowers and Fruits]

Old Stem Flowers and Fruits refers to the phenomenon of blossoming and yielding fruits on tree stems, which is the wisdom of the nature for the plants in rainforest to adapt to insect pollination. In rainforest, the insects have limited range of activities in the crown canopy, and the branches and leaves of adult trees are often very tall. To facilitate the access by insects and other animal pollinators, clever trees will bloom on low stems. As one of the few plants with old stem flowers and yielding fruits in rainforest, the flowers and fruits of Tetrastigma planicaule only on stout stem base of vine, or even affix to the ground. The arrangement of natural laws is not only conducive to its flower pollination through various insects, but also helps them to reproduce more. Of course, it is also beneficial to humans, birds, rodents, etc. for obtaining or eating the fruits and helping them to spread the seeds further. In the meantime, the fruits yielded on old stems are green and sour when they are young, but will become maroon, soft, slightly sweet with more juice and edible when they are mature, and they can also be used for making wine like grapes.

  

 

  

 

[Thousand-Root Landing]

Thousand-Root Landing refers to the phenomenon in rainforest when lots of roots are grown by trees to absorb nutrients downwards and thousands of roots are in the ground so as to take water downwards while fighting for the sun. In the rainforest, fallen tree roots in a large area look like “strings”, so they are called “forest magic piano” by local people. As time goes by, these roots will grow rapidly and become strong, known as the “pillar roots”, and finally make a forest with one tree.

  

 

[Plank Buttresses Root]

The phenomenon of plank buttresses root refers to the plank buttress roots developed by tall trees to adapt to the tropical rain forest climate. In tropical rainforest, the abundant rain plays strong leaching role, and takes away many soluble minerals by solution. Therefore, the soil is thin and very poor. The roots of most trees grow on the surface, so that the nutrients on the surface of the soil can be quickly absorbed. To avoid top-heavy problems, the roots are evolved into “plank buttress roots” to resist the impact of heavy storms and maintain moisture. Thus the problem that the tree roots in tropical rainforest are difficult to enter the deep soil while they are required to support the growth of the stems and branches above the ground is solved.

  

 

[Strangler Fig]

Strangler fig, also called strangler, refers to the phenomenon when the seeds are excreted onto other trees after the fruit of the strangling plant is eaten by birds. Under suitable conditions, these seeds sprout and produce many aerial roots which climb along the trunk of the tree to the ground soil, robbing the nutrients and water of the host plant, and the host plant is gradually dying due to the oppression of external strangulation and the lack of internal nutrients. In rainforest, there are twenty or thirty kinds of Ficus microcarpa with strangulation function. They often choose some tall and upright hosts as the target of strangulation, which makes it easier to obtain a broader ecological niche. The phenomenon of strangulation is the result of the interaction between plants. This cruel phenomenon is close to the weak meat in the animal kingdom.

  

 

[Tree-enclosed Rock]

The phenomenon of Tree in Stone or Tree-enclosed Rock refers to the condition when the plant seeds fallen onto stone sprout and grow continuously along the stone at suitable temperature and moisture, finally hold the stone firmly and form the phenomenon of tree in stone. In general, Ficus microcarpa is easy to form the phenomenon of tree in stone. To find the soil and more nutrients, the tree attaches multiple roots to the surface of the stone and grows downwards. The whole stone will be contained over time, and the time for the formation of the phenomenon of tree in stone often needs to be a hundred years, so it is very rare.

  

Scan the QR code to read on your phone

景区概况

莫里热带雨林·神奇雨林奇观

  • 分类:景区介绍
  • 发布时间:2019-10-18 00:00:00
  • 访问量:0
概要:
概要:
详情

  莫里热带雨林景区所处的云南省铜壁关省级自然保护区位于中国热带区域的最西部,是中国唯一具有伊洛瓦底江水系热带生物区系的地区,该区域历史上没有受到第四纪冰河期的影响,保存了许多古老原始的动植物种类,是中国—印度—缅甸热带生物地理区是资源最集中、最典型的区域。

  走进莫里热带雨林,你不仅能看到多树种、多层次、丰富多样的热带雨林垂直景观,还能看到“空中花园”、“树包石”、“老茎生花”等神奇的雨林现象。

 

  【空中花园】

  空中花园是指蕨类、兰科植物的附生现象。雨林中的蕨类、兰科植物经常附着于高大乔木的树杈、枝桠上,利用雨露、空气中的水汽及有限的腐殖质(腐烂的枯枝残叶或动物排泄物等)为生,各种叶形和花朵一团团或一簇簇地包围着大树,悬于空中,宛如“空中花园”。

  

 

  【老茎生花结果】

  老茎生花结果是指树木茎干上开出花朵和结果的现象。这是雨林中植物为了适应昆虫授粉活动而展示出的一种自然智慧。在热带雨林中,昆虫在林冠的活动范围有限,而成年乔木的枝叶往往很高,为使昆虫及其它动物授粉者更容易接触,聪明的大树便将花开在低矮处的茎干上。扁担藤作为热带雨林中为数不多的具有老茎开花、老茎结果现象的藤本植物之一,它的花果都仅仅出现在较粗壮的藤茎基部,甚至贴地而生,这样合乎自然法则的安排,不仅有利于各种昆虫为它传花授粉,帮助它更多地繁衍子孙,当然也有利于人类、鸟类、鼠类等采食它的果实,帮助它更远地传播种子;而老茎结果果实幼嫩时绿色,较酸,成熟时棕红色,变软,汁多微甜可食用,还可以像葡萄那样用来酿酒。

  

 

  

 

  【千脚落地】

  千脚落地是指在雨林中,树木在向上争取阳光的同时,又要向下汲取水分,所以自身就长出许多的根系向下吸取养分,形成千根落地的现象。雨林这种大片垂落的树根,好似“琴弦”,当地称之为“森林魔琴”。在随着时间慢慢推移,这些气根将迅速成长和粗壮,被称为“支柱根”,最后形成独树成林的现象。

  

 

  【板根现象】

  板根现象是指高大乔木适应热带雨林气候的形成的大板根现象。热带雨林中,丰沛的雨水带来强烈的淋溶作用,溶解带走了众多可溶性矿物,土壤只有薄薄一层,十分贫瘠。大多数树木的根都长在地表,这样可以很快吸收土壤表层的营养,为了避免头重脚轻问题,“板状根”就进化而来,可以抵抗大风暴雨的袭击,更有保持水分的作用。这解决了热带雨林中树木根系难以进入深层土壤却又要支撑地上部分茎干、枝叶生长的两难问题。

  

 

  【植物绞杀】

  植物绞杀是指绞杀植物的果实被鸟类食用后,种子被排泄在其他的乔木上。在适宜的条件下,这些种子发芽并生出许多气根,气根沿着寄主树干爬到地面土壤中,抢夺寄主植物的养分、水分,最终寄主植物终因外部绞杀的压迫和内部养分的贫乏而逐渐枯死。在热带雨林里,具有绞杀功能的榕树有二三十种。它们往往选择一些高大挺拔的寄主作为绞杀对象,可以较容易获得更广阔的生态位。绞杀现象是植物之间相互作用的结果,这种残酷的现象近乎于动物界的弱肉强食。

  

 

  【树包石现象】

  树包石是指在适宜的温度和水分下,落在石头上的植物种子生根发芽,并顺着石头不断生长,最终把石头紧紧抱住,形成树中石的现象。一般榕树容易形成树包石的现象,为了寻觅土壤和更多的养分,它将多条根脉附着在石头表面向下生长,久而久之就将整个石头包裹起来,而完整的树包石往往需要上百年才能形成,因此非常珍稀。

  

扫二维码用手机看